Elk Hunting Laws and Regulations

Here you are going to find elk hunting laws and regulations. It’s important that before every new hunting season you research any changes made to those laws or regulations. It’s not uncommon for states to change hunting regulations each new hunting season. Failure to follow them can result in heavy fines, equipment impediment and imprisonment. You also need to make sure you have a valid hunting license and any required permits or tags for elk.

Hunting License Information

The primary hunting law in all U.S. states is that a hunter must have a valid hunting license issued for the state they are hunting in, regardless if they are a resident or non-resident. Hunting licenses are usually issued on an annual basis, but some states do have lifetime hunting licenses. The cost of a hunting license varies by state and will be different for residents and non-residents. You’ll also be required to show proof that you took a hunting safety course and depending on the state a gun safety course. While all hunting laws are important this is one that you cannot overlook.

Many people think that hunting and fishing licenses are just a way for states to make more money. However, it’s the income from these licenses that actually help fund conservation projects and the wildlife management programs that make hunting a possibility in the United States. The main point is that you should not only get a hunting license because it’s the law, but also because it will help maintain the hunting sport now and for future generations. Remember, if you’re caught hunting without a proper hunting license andor any other special tags or permits you might need you can get some heavy fines and even find yourself in the local county jail.

Elk Hunting Permits – Elk Hunting Tags

Depending on the hunting rules and regulations of the state you plan to hunt elk in you might some type of elk hunting permit or elk hunting tag. These are required along with a valid hunting license for the state they are issued in. Generally this type of permit or tag is issued via a lottery since there are more hunters interested than tags or permits available. You should always make sure that along with your hunting license that you have the right permit or tag required to hunt elk. You can access the resource list below to see if your state requires any special permit or tag for elk hunting.

Current State Hunting Laws and Regulations

Currently every single U.S. state that has any type of hunting season has a department dedicated to managing and enforcing hunting laws and regulations. Lucky for hunters since we are knee deep in the technology age all the law and regulations related to hunting are available via the internet. However, you can also directly call the department that manages hunting regulations and laws to request more information. Below is a link to each U.S. state’s website dedicated to hunting and will contain their current laws and regulations. Please contact us if you find any broken links in the below list.

Alabama – Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources

Alaska – Alaska Department of Fish and Game

Arizona – Arizona Game and Fish Department

Arkansas – Arkansas Game and Fish Commission

California – California Department of Fish and Game

Colorado – Colorado Department of Natural Resources

Connecticut – Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

Delaware – Division of Fish & Wildlife

Florida – Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission

Georgia – Georgia Wildlife Resources Division

Hawaii – Department of Land and Natural Resources

Idaho – Idaho Fish and Game

Illinois – Illinois Department of Natural Resources

Indiana – Indiana Department of Natural Resources

Iowa – Iowa Department of Natural Resources

Kansas – Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism

Kentucky – Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources

Louisiana – Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries

Maine – Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife

Maryland – Maryland Department of Natural Resources

Massachusetts – Massachusetts Division of Fisheries and Wildlife

Michigan – Michigan Department of Natural Resources

Minnesota – Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

Mississippi – Mississippi Department of Wlidlife, Fisheries, & Parks

Missouri – Missouri Department of Conservation

Montana – Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks

Nebraska – Nebraska Game and Parks Commission

Nevada – Nevada Department of Wildlife

New Hampshire – New Hampshire Fish and Game Department

New Jersey – Department of Environmental Protection

New Mexico – New Mexico Department of Game and Fish

New York – New York State Department of Environmental Conservation

North Carolina – North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission

North Dakota – North Dakota Game and Fish

Ohio – Ohio Department of Natural Resources

Oklahoma – Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation

Oregon – Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife

Pennsylvania – Pennsylvania Game Commission

Rhode Island – Division of Fish and Wildlife

South Carolina – South Carolina Department of Natural Resources

South Dakota – South Dakota Department of Game, Fish and Parks

Tennessee – Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency

Texas – Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Utah – Utah Division of Wildlife Resources

Vermont – Vermont Fish & Wildlife Department

Virginia – Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries

Washington – Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife

West Virginia – West Virginia Division of Natural Resources

Wisconsin – Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources

Wyoming – Wyoming Game & Fish Department